RAMP logo

Realize America's Maritime Promise


EPW Committee Unanimously Approves Major Water Infrastructure Bill
Approval of WRDA Signals Strong Bipartisan Support for Water Infrastructure March 20, 2013

Washington, D.C. - Today, the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee unanimously approved S.601, the Water Resources Development Act of 2013. The bill provides critical flood protection for communities across the country, maintains the flow of commerce, and will create up to 500,000 new jobs. There was strong bipartisan support in the Committee for S. 601 and that vote signals support for passage by the full Senate. The legislation is cosponsored by Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Chairman of the Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee and Senator David Vitter (R-LA), Ranking Member.
Senator Boxer said: "It is a great day for the American people, as WRDA is critical for flood control, port commerce, safe drinking water and wastewater infrastructure. I thank Senator Vitter and the other members of the EPW Committee for working together on this critical legislation."
Senator Vitter said: "WRDA is one of the most important and impressive bipartisan bills to come out of our committee, and I thank Chairman Boxer for her leadership getting this done so efficiently. Our bill will implement real and necessary reforms to the Corps of Engineers to decrease project delivery time so that folks will be better protected from flooding and other projects can help jumpstart increased commerce."

See TITLE VIII. Harbor Maintenance The legislation addresses the growing surplus of funds in the Harbor Maintenance Trust Fund by ensuring all revenues will be spent for port maintenance without impacting other important Corps of Engineers projects.

S.218 -- Harbor Maintenance Act of 2013 (Introduced in Senate)

We are pleased to announce that on February 4, 2013, Senators Carl Levin (D-MI) and Johnny Isakson (R-GA) introduced S-218, Harbor Maintenance Act of 2013, with cosigners Senators Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Rob Portman (R-OH), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Chris Coons (D-DE),Pat Roberts (R-KS), Mark Warner (D-VA), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Al Franken (D-MN), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Charles Schumer (D-NY), Tom Coburn (R-OK), Bob Casey (D-PA), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Mark Kirk (R-IL), John Cornyn (R-TX), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Mark Begich (D-AK), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Susan Collins (R-ME), and Barbara Boxer (D-CA)

"To ensure that amounts credited to the Harbor Maintenance Trust Fund are used for harbor maintenance." View the bill

H.R- 335 Introduced -- Harbor Maintenance Act of 2013 (Introduced in House)

We are pleased to announce that on January 22, 2013, Congressman Charles Boustany (R-LA) and Congressman Joe Courtney (D-CT) introduced H.R. 335 - RAMP Act, with co-sponsors Congressmen Mike Thompson (D-CA), Elijah Cummings (D-MD), Candice Miller (D-MI), Madeleine Bordallo (D-GU), Michael Capuano (D-MA),Kevin Brady (R-TX), Michael McCaul (R-TX), Reid Ribble (R-WI),Michael Michaud (D-ME), Stephen Lynch (D-MA), Walter Jones (R-NC), Michael Grimm (R-NY), Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), Peter DeFazio (D-OR), Gregg Harper (R-MS), John Dingell (D-MI), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Pat Meehan (R-PA), John Conyers (D-MI), Blake Farenthold (R-TX), Kurt Schrader (D-OR), John Carney (D-DE), Steve Southerland (R-FL), Chellie Pingree (D-ME), Larry Bucshon (R-IN), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Jim Himes (D-CT), John Fleming (R-LA), Tim Walberg (R-MI), Jackie Speier (D-CA), Peter King (R-NY), Tim Griffin (R-AR), Dutch Ruppersberger, Brian Higgins (D-NY), and John Duncan (R-TN)

"To ensure that amounts credited to the Harbor Maintenance Trust Fund are used for harbor maintenance." View the bill